Matchbox Garden & Seed Co.

From Seed to Garden

leave a comment »

From Seed to Garden

It has been a cold winter, and snowy, very snowy. Many of us are complaining about all this bitter cold and the thick blanket of snow that seems to, inexhaustibly, go on forever. For all you serious gardeners out there however, this winter will give us many gifts come spring and summer. Word has it that scientists believe this winter weather will kill off much of the Ash Borer population that has been ravaging our Ash trees across the country. It will also do wonders in killing off some of our other garden pests, and I wonder if it won’t do the same for a very few soil bourne diseases? Aside from these possibilities, this weather is going a long way to increase our ground water, and given the summer weather in recent years, we could really use a top up.
Now – seed to garden. I have been racking my head trying to find a solution for my greenhouse heat, I think I’m getting close, I hope I’m getting close! I start seeding on Monday and if I don’t solve the problem then there will be 6 trays of baby seedlings hanging out in my bathroom for a couple of weeks. My husband will not love me for that! I must plant those seeds though! They are a reminder that spring isn’t far around the corner and that before long I (and many other gardeners and farmers alike) will be in the field at dawn, breathing in the crisp air and feeling the soft earth beneath my feet.
This time of year is always a great opportunity to look ahead for Matchbox. We have our annual round of Seedy Saturdays to attend, farmers market applications to submit, greenhouse to prepare and garden plans to finalize. I hope that many of you are able to revel in these activities as well, they are a nice change of focus from the doldrums of winter and a sweet taste of what is to come.

Written by matchboxgarden

February 7, 2014 at 6:16 am

Leave a comment